Silas Soule: Paid with his life to do the right thing

Excerpts from my book, Forgotten Heroes and Villains of Sand Creek (June 11, 2010).

On New Years Day 1865, Captain Silas S. Soule (pronounced “Sole”) and his men walked their horses along a bend in Sand Creek, counting Arapaho and Cheyenne bodies. Most of the corpses, or what was left of them, were women and children. They had lain in the winter grass for over a month. By then, the work of the elements, of wolves, coyotes and the hundred or so dogs living in the former camp had disguised the mutilations, but Soule wrote to his mother a few days later that all had been scalped. “I hope the authorities at Washington will investigate the killing of those Indians,” he wrote. “I think they will be apt to hoist some of our high officials. I would not fire on the Indians with my Co and the Col said he would have me cashiered but he is out of the service before me and I think I stand better than he does in regard to his great Indian fight.”

Silas Soule spoke up about the massacre and soon paid with his life.

Silas Soule

2 thoughts on “Silas Soule: Paid with his life to do the right thing

  1. I enjoyed the book, however there is one small error. I live close to Fairmount Cemetery where Chivington is buried, and the date of his death on his tombstone is given as 1894, not 1892 as shown on page 58.
    As well in the epilogue of the book it mentions that Fred Wynkoop, Ned’s son, worked for Chivington in 1894 when the latter was coroner.

Leave a Reply

